Central Bank of Nigeria



Central Business District P.M.B. 0187 Garki, Abuja

E-mail address: ted@cenbank.org

Our Ref: TED/FEM/FPC/GEN/01/ 110/08

October 15, 2008

To: <u>ALL AUTHORISED DEALERS AND THE GENERAL PUBLIC</u>

<u>YEAR 2008 HAJJ OPERATIONS – PURCHASE OF TRAVELLING</u> <u>ALLOWANCE (PTA) IN SAUDI RIYAL TRAVELLERS' CHEQUES (SRTCs)</u>

Authorised Dealers and the general public are hereby notified of the following arrangements for the 2008 Hajj operations:

- 1. Each pilgrim is entitled to the Saudi Riyal Travellers' Cheque (SRTCs) equivalent of a minimum of US\$750.00 and a maximum of US\$1,500.00 as PTA. On the day of purchase of the SRTC, the prevailing Naira exchange rate shall apply.
- 2. No commission shall be charged by the banks for the sale of SRTCs to the intending pilgrims.
- 3. The Central Bank of Nigeria shall issue SRTCs to the designated banks two (2) weeks before the commencement of the Hajj Operations and the accounts of the respective banks shall be debited as soon as the funds are disbursed. The actual date of disbursement of the TCs to the designated banks will be communicated in due course.
- 4. Each designated bank is required to sell to the CBN the unutilized SRTCs not later than two (2) weeks from the date of the last inward flight to Nigeria from Jedda, while the accounts of the banks shall be credited promptly.

The approved schedule showing the distribution of the Pilgrims expected to perform the 2008 Hajj and the designated banks that will handle the sales of the PTA to the pilgrims in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), each state and the Armed Forces is stated below for guidance.

S/NO.	STATE	NO. OF PILGRIMS PER	DESIGNATED BANKS
		STATE	
1	Abia	50	Union Bank of Nigeria Plc
2	Abuja (FCT)	2,820	Unity Bank Plc
3	Adamawa	2,200	Zenith Bank Plc
4	Akwa Ibom	60	UBA Plc

5	Anambra	100	Fidelity Bank Plc
6	Bauchi	3,650	First Inland Bank Plc
7	Bayelsa	180	Zenith Bank Plc
8	Benue	500	Unity Bank Plc
9	Borno	3,060	United Bank for Africa Plc
10	Cross River	50	First Bank Plc
11	Delta	100	Afribank Nigeria Plc
12	Ebonyi	60	Union Bank of Nigeria Plc
13	Edo	300	Bank PHB Plc
14	Ekiti	280	Union Bank of Nigeria Plc
15	Enugu	50	UBA Plc
16	Gombe	2,502	Unity Bank Plc
17	Imo	80	United Bank for Africa Plc
18	Jigawa	3,200	Sterling Bank Plc
19	Kaduna	8030	Unity Bank Plc
20	Kano	7,000	Unity Bank Plc
21	Katsina	6,550	Bank PHB and UBA Plc
22	Kebbi	6000	Unity Bank/Zenith Bank Plc
23	Kogi	830	Unity Bank Plc
24	Kwara	2541	Unity Bank Plc
25	Lagos	3,800	Union Bank of Nigeria
26	Nasarawa	2,200	Unity Bank Plc & First Inland Bank
27	Niger	4,330	Unity Bank/Skye Nigeria Plc
28	Ogun	1,530	First City Monument Bank Plc
29	Ondo	355	Unity Bank Plc
30	Osun	1,000	UBA Plc
31	Оуо	1,500	Wema Bank Plc & Skye Bank Plc
32	Plateau	1,600	First Inland/Diamond Bank Plc
33	Rivers	450	Zenith Bank Plc
34	Taraba	1,730	Zenith Bank & Unity Bank Plc
35	Sokoto	7,000	Oceanic/Intercontinental Bank Plc
36	Yobe	2,730	Unity Bank Plc
37	Zamfara	6,010	Unity Bank Plc
38	Armed Forces	450	Oceanic Bank Plc
	Total	84,878	

T

N. T. IGBA For: Ag. DIRECTOR TRADE & EXCHANGE DEPARTMENT